Home / Technology / To disconnect Dropbox devices to obey its new "free" limits

To disconnect Dropbox devices to obey its new "free" limits



Graphic: Mike Epstein

Dropbox just made a madman to their "Basic" user-free users, that is. The company silently adds a new add-on that limits these accounts to just three units. If you want to use your Dropbox account on four or more devices, you must pay for the service's premium version, which costs you at least $ 9.99 per month or $ 99.99 per year.

If you already had a free Dropbox account before the switch, there is good news and bad news. Dropbox will not disable any devices if you exceed the new limit. So, if you have 10 units synchronized to a free Dropbox account, they will all continue to work. Phew.

However, users who have more than three devices connected to their accounts cannot synchronize any new hardware until they disconnect all but two of their devices to follow the new limit. For example, if you decide to get a new phone, you will need to collect your devices to access your files. Even for people who regularly use three devices (or fewer), this will likely present some challenges along the line and drive you to follow, go premium or move away from Dropbox altogether.

This means that you will probably need to spend some time by reviewing and disconnecting some of your old devices. To do so on the web, log in to Dropbox, click on the profile icon at the top right of the window and go to "Settings." In the setup menu, click "Security" and then scroll down to "Devices", which displays all the devices you have used to log in to Dropbox.

This is just part of my Dropbox device's bloating.
Screenshot: Mike Epstein

If you move on, if you have a free Dropbox account, you will want to make a mental plan for how you plan to use the service. In other words, remember how to use Dropbox on a daily, weekly, and even monthly basis: Where do you get the most common benefits? Where do you save the most time? Where do you access your files much compared to sparingly ? Take all the elements, weigh them in the head and use it to help you decide which units will have access to your account and will not. It's a pain and a stupid pain, given that so many of us live in a multi-unit world, but it will save you time and frustration as you turn to the new, limited life of a Dropbox user.


Source link