Americans are not allowed to travel to EU countries when the block opens to international visitors on July 1



The European Union extended its travel ban on Americans on Thursday as coronavirus infections continued to nail down across the United States.

The EU first began lifting international travel restrictions on July 1, welcoming visitors from 14 countries, including Canada, South Korea and Australia. The United States was left out of the original list and Americans remain barred from visiting the bloc for at least another two weeks during Thursday’s decision, announced by the European Council.

The announcement came after EU officials conducted their first two-week review of travel restrictions, coronavirus trends and containment measures in each country to determine whether to add or restrict the list of allowed travelers.

The most important measurement: the pandemic outbreak in a given country must be as accommodating – or more – better than in the EU.

Open the borders again: Tourists in Europe, USA, have restrictions in the midst of fear of new virus spikes

The United States has surpassed 3.4 million cases with over 137,400 deaths, according to Johns Hopkins University. Globally, there have been 13.5 million cases and more than 584,300 deaths.

In Thursday’s decision, the EU said that residents of 12 countries can visit the bloc, which includes France, Germany, Italy, Spain and Austria.

Canada, South Korea and Australia remain on the list of approved nations while Montenegro and Serbia were removed. No new countries were added.

Thursday’s decree will not apply to travel to Britain, which left the EU in January.

However, those from the United States and many other countries will be excluded as too risky due to coronavirus cases in their home countries. Chinese travelers will be allowed to visit if the country’s government confirms a reciprocity policy, the council said in a statement.

Auto Play

View thumbnails

Show captions

Download SlideNext Slide

Read or share this story: