Americans are not allowed to travel to EU countries when the block opens to international visitors on July 1



For the second time this month, the European Union extended its travel ban on Americans on Thursday, as COVID-19 infections continued to increase across the United States.

The EU first began lifting its travel restrictions outside the bloc on 1 July and welcomed visitors from 14 countries, including Canada, South Korea and Australia. The United States was left out of the original list, and the EU extended its ban on Americans visiting the bloc on July 16.

The European Council’s announcement came after EU officials conducted their two-week review of travel restrictions and examined coronavirus trends and containment measures in each country to determine whether to add or restrict the list of allowed travelers.

The most important measurement: The pandemic outbreak in a given country must be as accommodating – or better – than in the EU.

The United States had more than 4.4 million COVID-19 cases as of Thursday and more than 151,000 deaths, more than any other nation, according to Johns Hopkins University.

European countries have made significantly more progress in containing coronavirus, which causes COVID-19. According to EU data, the bloc – which includes the European Economic Area (EU countries plus Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway) and the United Kingdom – reported more than 1.7 million cases as of Thursday.

Three US states – California, Florida and New York – have more than 400,000 cases, while a fourth, Texas, has almost as many. No other EU country has more than 300,000 cases according to the European Center for Disease Prevention and Control.

Here are the dozens of countries where citizens are approved to visit the EU. The list has not been changed since two weeks ago, when Montenegro and Serbia were removed:

  • Australia
  • Canada
  • Georgia
  • Japanese
  • Morocco
  • New Zealand
  • rwanda
  • South Korea
  • thailand
  • Tunisia
  • uruguay
  • China, subject to reciprocity confirmation

Thursday’s decree does not apply to travel to the UK, which left the EU in January.

The US State Department has been advising Americans on international travel since March.

Auto Play

View thumbnails

Show captions

Last SlideNext Slide

Read or share this story: